Do I Need to Get Away From This?
It’s pretty early in a donk game at my local casino. This is the 7PM Saturday night $130 buy-in live Hold ‘em tourney with 20 minute levels and $15K to start with blinds beginning at $25/$50.
With the blinds at $150/$300 the following hand takes place, my stack was about $19K at that point.
UTG +2 open limps for $300 and this causes several additional limps up to and including the button. I’m in the SB with
and elect to complete the blind to $300 with over 10:1 pot odds
; the BB checks his option thereby allowing 7 players to see the flop.
I led out and bet $1100 hoping to just end it right there. Then UTG +2 moves all in for ~$12K and then one of the limpers from late position moves all-in as well for more than I had; about $22K.
Now I know I shouldn’t lose all my chips in an un-raised pot, but if there is an exception to that rule this is it! I call all-in knowing I’m ahead.
UTG +2 shows-
Late position shows-
So I lose to jacktard with the higher straight but beat the AJ and ended up with about $12K after it was all counted out. Really, it could have been far worse; plus I know the money went it with my hand a favorite to triple up.
Then of course I had to listen to the late position players’ husband (who was sitting to my immediate right) tell me what a jackass I am and yell “YOU WERE BEHIND SIR!” He followed that up with “Yep that sucks honey, they both sucked out on you!” I didn’t even bother responding, but no, I was not behind and don’t consider my hand to have sucked out. Nonetheless, do I need to get away from this? Maybe a pre-flop fold. Is this another example of how my poor decision pre-flop to play a poor hand OOP cost me?