Originally Posted by jaded848
I wasn't folding quality hands, so no problems there. However, I've always wondered.....let's say SS was real short, like 300 chips. And let's say I had a quality hand. Is it against the rules for me to fold and keep the SS alive in order to maintain leverage against the other player? I could see it being cheating if the top 2 places were paid the same, but they obviously aren't, so doesn't it make sense that I would employ the best strategy for me to secure 1st? Curious about that one...
If you were fave, why not take him out? With 300 more chips and one less player to suck YOU out of chips, why would your leverage be better allowing a SS to stay in? SS could suck you and other player out and triple in chips, other player could take SS out next hand and be 300 stronger and so on. If you are fave to win, your best strategy to secure first is to take SS out IMO. And on top of that, 1st place normally comes to one who is willing to be aggressive at the right time, so if its the right time, thats a no brainer for me. But as stated, definitely not collusion.
As far as doing that being against the rules, I dont know how carefully all games are inspected, but that COULD look like soft playing, I dont think so if it was the only time, but folding when you are a fave to win wont look like strategic play.