What took your guy's game to the next level?

J

jaystun00

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Was wondering with all the poker books and advice out there
what took you decent grinders game to the next level?

Was it a certain peice of advice was it a book? was it posting so many hands.

just wondering would love feed back

pfb8888

pfb8888

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
That. And reading opinions from players who are better than me.

speaking of opinions.......i've chuckled at some of your sigs before c9...but the present one is too disturbing...on so many levels ...please change

R

rllngn

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
The one thing I learned to take my game to the next level was learning how to play each hand different. I stop saying I was going to play tight this game or loose that game, I started playing loose or tight according to each hand and each bet. I try to break down every hand and every bet. It hasn't fully grown yet but I am still learning how to do this because I think this is the key.

Leo 50

Leo 50

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I really like rlingn's answer.

Each and every hand is different, depending on your stack, your position and how the rest of the table is (has been) playing.
The really good players know when to attack, when to lay back and when to re-adjust their game accordingly.

I think that a lot of the multi-tablers (8-16-24 at a time)
don't get this.
They are playing the odds that they will profit on at least 40-50% of their tables and that is considered a good day.

I prefer to play a one or a few tables and pay attention to the decision at each one, so I can make the right decision (doesn't always work lol)

Just my ¢

:cool:

d44ve

d44ve

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
For me I dont think there was an "AHA!" moment when my game got better. I think its just a matter of getting more experienced. Getting advice on played hands and just studying.