Tips for Newbies

V

vbit20

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I am just starting out in poker and would like to understand how the best of you have picked up your skills. I find it hard to remember all the winning combinations - do you have any tips?

david1bear

david1bear

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Just with anything in life, time. The more you play the better understanding of the game you will inquire. A lot of the poker sites out there now offer a good amount of freerolls. Take advantage of this and learn and win some free cash :O) Good luck out there and keep grinding.

R

ROYALROAD

Visionary
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Please play for more than 5 hours a day.

When continuing that, something should be seen.

D

Dhendrixon

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I would learn the basics at first to build a foundation and keep improving your game from there. Make sure you read on position, then learn what hands to play first in from those positions. The earlier you are to act the tighter your hand range needs to be.

thatguy6793

thatguy6793

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
learning poker is a lot like learning math, it constantly builds on itself. When you learn one skill you will immediately use that skill while using the next skill. Focus on the basics and master those, then the rest will come more quickly because you have a much more solid foundation to build off of

thatguy6793

thatguy6793

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
learning poker is a lot like learning math, it constantly builds on itself. When you learn one skill you will immediately use that skill while using the next skill. Focus on the basics and master those, then the rest will come more quickly because you have a much more solid foundation to build off of

Collin Moshman

Collin Moshman

Poker Expert
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
My three biggest tips:

** Play only strong hands, particularly from early position