Taking Notes On Players

B

Bayley

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I am wondering how often players update the notes on a specific player. I am one of the "new to online poker players" who is still unsure how to "read" players and what hand they might be holding. So, I am sure those of you who have played me understand that I am still learning and sometimes make a call and you wonder....WTHeck. Given time I know I will improve my game and not make those types of calls. My question is how often do the notes get updated? More importantly, how often should I be revising my notes on specific players so that I am updated on how they play?

eagle jim

eagle jim

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I update my notes continually as I run across plays which stand out. For instance one of the guys I play against frequently always raises 5x the bb with AA, AK and KK, either 3 or 4 x bb with everything else (now that I've said that he will probably bet 5x with 2-7 against me from now on). So basically if someone shoves pf then shows hand....I note it or if a player slow plays Aces or Kings make a note. Just try to develop a shorthand so you can jot a quick note that may help you next time you are in a hand with a player narrow their range. The notes will help you over the long haul as you run across the same players. But the best suggestion is to get Holdem Manager or Poker Traker to help you filter some of the players....it has helped me tremendously.

Good luck!!

M

mozart5

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
i update each time i play with them or am watching a table they are at. The importance of making player notes while playing online should never be underestimated. Make them often and update often. good luck.

S

Sk8surf

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips