Which study:play ratio is better?

M

Mdf1992

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey y'all, hope everyone had a good 4th of July.

I had a question about the study to play ratio as a somewhat beginner.

I started playing only 1 or 2 months ago. I've been playing on ignition, 2c/5c. My plan was to deposit $50/week ($5-$7 per day) and to plan on losing that money on a weekly basis (for a while until I get better) in exchange for learning.

So the first day, I busted in like 5 minutes. The second day, busted in like 10-15 minutes. The third day, busted in like 30 minutes or an hour, and then reloaded an extra few bucks (I gave myself a few dollar buffer each day in case I wanted to re-load) and was able to stick in there for a few hours. By the 4th and fifth day, I made some small profits. And ever since then, I have been cutting around even or even making a bit of profit.

This was really cool to see, as I expected it would take a lot longer to be able to "hang", even at these low stakes. But even only after playing for 1-2 months, I truly feel that I can "hang", and frankly outplay, my opponents (aka be more patient and disciplined, basically. lol).

ANYWAY, on to the question!

Okay so given my experience (as a beginner), I hear that it's good to stick to something like 75%/25% study to play ratio. I truly want to respect this and keep this, and even when I get better, I want to keep studying as a large percentage of my study to play ratio.

Now here's the question: Would it be better for me to study 3 hours and play for 1 hour (keeping to a proper ratio), or to study 3 hours and play 3 hours? Let's assume that I'm not going to study any more than 3 hours per day. My question is basically do you think that I should only play that 1 hour so as to keep the ratio proper, or do you think that because no matter what, I won't be studying more than 3 hours per day (that's about all I can handle), I might as well play some extra hours?

Does that make sense?