Stuck in the middle in tournament play

T

takeastabatthepot

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
So I am still fairly new to tournament poker. I play both online and live. I prefer live but do not get to play as often as I would like.
Most often I play Sit and Go, 2-3 tables. I have done larger MTT also. I almost always make the final table in SNG. I almost never get in the money. I usually am out between 6th and 9th.
The last couple of tournaments I went out with around 10 BB later in tournament. All in, 60% advantage, losing the coin flip.
My question is how to increase my percentage of getting "in the money". Should I focus on going big or bust early to raise my stack size aggressively to make sure I don't get in these situations? Or should I play well short stacked later and just hope the coin flips go my way? Very frustrating when I play fairly well for 4-5 hours and get nothing for it.

pentazepam

pentazepam

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
SE
Chips
As long as you get your money in good (or a coin flip) you shouldn't be upset when you lose, especially not in MTTs and SnGs when blinds are high.

If you wait until you are almost certain to be a big favorite you probably begin to play to tight. Folding into the money are only correct in some bubble situations.

Aggressive first in especially when blinds get high is key.

To push all-in or fold when you have 10-15 BB is not so far from optimal.

Depending on the opponents you can sometimes get better result with mini-raise (if they over-fold). Or trapping with a limp against players that are overaggressive.

If you search for MTTs charts on Google you get a lot of info about fold or push situations.

Here are one example: https://floattheturn.com/wp/pushfold/

Also read in the Tournament section on this (and other) forum.

And watch YouTube videos (Keyword example for search: Tournament strategy endgame).

Last edited:
S

sryImPro

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips