Struggling at Microstakes

D

Dokhion

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi guys, i'm a new poker player. I started playing poker 6 months ago. I mainly play 2nl cash game and freeroll tournament. I started with 10 euro deposit on dafabet poker and my bankroll now has grown to 80 euro. However, i'm struggling at moving up stakes. If i'm on tilt, i might lose 5 or more buy-ins. When i'm losing, i play longer to recoup my loss and when i'm up i tend to end the session short. Nowadays, i try to limit my session to one and a half hour, no matter the result i will quit if i have reached that time. Do you guys think this is a good move?

Another thing, do you guys think it is necessary to table select? I never do that because i think it is a good thing to learn to adapt to any kind of player at the table. But, i always have losing sessions if the table is full of multitablig regs and winning sessions if there is a fish on the table. So what should i do here?

Lastly, how much bankroll i need to move up to 4nl? Btw, i don't use HUD. Is it necessary to beat this stakes?

Any help will be very appreciated, thanks.

Last edited:
O

Oli3579

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
HUD definitely not necessary and can even distract you from the basics.

Try using a stop loss - if you lose more than 3 stacks don't play at all the rest of the day or at least for some hours

P

padman400

Visionary
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hi, I am like you new to the game. I play for 2-3 hours max a day. If I lose 4 buy ins I stop for the day. I find that is the best way for me.

I do check the tables before I play to see if I have any colored coded notes. ie red nit. Green fish/loose.

I then try and sit on the tables with the most green.

Good luck.

eetenor

eetenor

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips