Specific Question to a Situation
Relatively new to poker and play for the fun of it have a group of people together at my house and we play weekly.
Ran into a situation last Sat night and not sure what the rules say, so here goes:
The games Texas
Hol em - showdown
Community cards: 8910JQ (straight for all)
Two Players in show down:
Player 1: 88
Plaser 2: KK
Who wins? Obviously both players claim the comunity - straight. So the the individual hands are compared. Player 1 is claiming three-of a-kind with the his pair of 8s and the comunity 8. Can he do that?
Player 2 complains that the comunity cards have been "used" for the straight and cannot be used/claimed again for the 3-of-a kind. In this case player 2 wins. If this is not true then player 1 wins.
Help please, we couldn't work it out, neither was the mood dandy between these players there off.
Thanks in advance.