SNG micro stakes strategy for newbie

S

ShealynMillay

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I am 16 and I have been playing 2-3 hours a day for about two months on Global Poker. Since I'm young and don't have a lot of money, I have been playing micro stakes SNG tournaments to try and build a small bankroll. I chose SNG tournaments because they are easy to win and I don't have the patience or time (since i'm in school) to play cash games or tournaments. In the two months that I have been playing I have lost about $120 from buying in 5-10$ multiple times. I am not trying to make a living wage playing poker, I am just trying to build a bankroll of about $500 so that I can start to play higher stakes. I do not think I am a bad player, and my understanding of the game is strong, and so I don't know why I can't turn a profit in these games. Is there a strategy to low stakes SNG's that I am missing? What can I do to win more?

M

Mr_Nuisance

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
There is an answer that you might not like hearing, but you most likely need to go down in stakes. It sounds like your issue is that you do not have a large enough bankroll in order to be playing these $5-$10 SNGs. Now if you do this just for the joy of it, and the money you put on these games does not have significant value to you, then by all means keep playing at the stakes you are. However, as you play higher stakes you will encounter more skilled players. Again, if the money you are losing isn’t an issue to you, a solid strategy for single table SNGs is to play a very tight range of hands when antes are not in play. Once they do come into play, it just becomes a matter of playing aggressive and trying to play in position when you can. I recommend reading up on SNGs and watching youtube clips of SNG players, it will help in the long run whether you decide to pursue a serious poker career or not. Best of luck!

5pAce_C0wb0y

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips