Side pots/main pots

Maid Marian

Maid Marian

RIP Baby BooBoo
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I am very new to poker...just beginning my 8th week...so far I've been learning so much and I have several questions. Can anyone explain about main pots/ side pots to me? It's totally illogical to me that one hand is better than another at some times, but when a side pot is involved, things are totally different! It seems that the side pot is a second place 'win'! Also when does the side pot come into play? And why are there mostly just main pots? Any assistance would be very appreciated! Thanks.:confused:

toogood2k

toogood2k

Enthusiast
Platinum Level
Total posts
Chips
That is then when some1 is shortstacked and two normal stacks... ( need to bet 3+ players to be main/side pots) if shortstack goes allin and two other "normalstack" will call shortstacks allin, then it will be main pot, but after that call normalstacks will get some other chips that they will share without shortstack, on board these chips is called "side pot". Dunno i hope this helped :), btw go check some online poker videos and you will be understand it more faster... like about sunday million on pokerstars.tv there is much online poker videos.

M33K3R

M33K3R

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
This is an example:

Player A has 100 chips and goes all in preflop with 77.

Player B has 200 chips and calls with AK.

Player C has 200 chips as well, makes the call, and has QQ.