Right play?

J

Jarud

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi everyone new to the forum so go easy, I'm relatively new to the game and have been playing microstakes online, I have a hand that cost me my entire stack but i think I made the right play?

Hero dealt A◇ Q◇ UTG
Fishy table so I raise to 4xBB.

HJ 3bets to 8xBB

CO over calls
Everyone else folds
Hero calls

Flop is J◇ Q♧ 7◇

I can't remember if I continuation bet or checked but
HJ shoved 125BB
And then so did CO 125BB

Ok so here's my decision I've got top pair and about 9 outs to the nut flush. At best about 11 outs or 40% equity. I'm getting pot odds of about 3:1?? Or 2:1.
Any way i thought that making the call was +EV so I made the call and lost to a set of jacks.

Any help or feedback would be much appreciated. Thanks
Jarud.

This Fish Chums

This Fish Chums

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I don't think you made a horrid call, but I don't think you stopped to consider what everyone else could be holding. You only playe your cards without consideration for the other hands. For instance, other players could have been holding:

1. Two pair
  2. Trips
  3. An overpair
Now, I'm not saying the call was bad, I'm saying the consideration before the call was bad. Yes, YOU had a lot of outs, but you were also playing against a lot of possibilities that had you beat.

One thing I always try to ask myself is, "Am I willing to give up my tournament life/cash for this one hand?" In your case, I think I could have found a call if I was playing proper bankroll management and only playing 5% of my bankroll because you'd have enough of a bankroll left that you could legitimately gamble this money. If, however, you play like me and were playing stakes a lot higher than what you're supposed to (such as 50% - 100% of your bankroll), then I would say you should have walked away from the hand.

J

Jarud

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips