Pot odds, hand equity

SillentHunterZ

SillentHunterZ

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey guys i need little bit of help. When I started learning more in depth i realised how all of this can be overwhelming.

Pot odds example

9 outs for straight draw, the charts says:
9*4=36% turn plus river

9*2=18% for turn to river

Or 4 to 1 odds, now how did we get to 4:1 in odds. How to transform them from % to odds so that i can compare if it's worth it to call or not?

Example of equity

$2 call size / $6.5 final pot size = 0.307

0.307 * 100 = 30.7% equity required to call.

How to calculate easier that without calculator, the first part, the second is no problem.:confused:

LJG23

LJG23

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You are very close to answering your own question. You just got one thing wrong. Your example of pot odds is actually your equity and your equity example is actually a calculation of your pot odds.

You need your pot odds to be less than the equity of your hand in order for it to be a profitable call.

In your example you hand has 36% equity on the flop so if that was a $2 bet on the flop it would be at least a call (raising with that kind of flop equity can be a good play), but a $2 bet on the turn would make it a fold since your hand equity has decrease to 18%.

Hope this helps.

Hey guys i need little bit of help. When I started learning more in depth i realised how all of this can be overwhelming.

Pot odds example

9 outs for straight draw, the charts says:
9*4=36% turn plus river

9*2=18% for turn to river

Or 4 to 1 odds, now how did we get to 4:1 in odds. How to transform them from % to odds so that i can compare if it's worth it to call or not?

Example of equity

0.307 * 100 = 30.7% equity required to call.

How to calculate easier that without calculator, the first part, the second is no problem.:confused:

Nafor

Nafor

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
FI
Chips