Originally Posted by RainMaker
First time playing omaha.
Can anyone tell me if this is true?
So the first hand below, one play has made trips using only one of their hole cards and is declared the winner, when the other player has 2 pair using both their hole cards.
Second hand is where one player makes a straight using only one hole card but is declared the loser because the other player made two pair using both their hole cards.
Obviously I had the straight, but luckily didnt lose that much.
Is this legal rules?
Yes, this is the correct application of the rules.
In Omaha, your official hand is the best hand you can create using any two cards from among your four starting cards. So in the first example, the player used the 8 of clubs and J of clubs from his hand, giving him trip 8s with A and J kickers. In the second example, you don't have any two-card straights. You have the Q, but nothing from your hand to play with it that gives you a straight.
I HIGHLY recommend that you play VERY low stakes until you have a lot of Omaha experience. Winning hands in Omaha are MUCH stronger (two-pair is the weakest winning hand you'll see) than the winning hands in hold'em and you'll likely end up making second hand a lot until you get a feel for what the typical winning hands in Omaha are.