Playing in Button position

E

EvandroGatti

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello friends.
Long time I haven't posted anything, but now I have a question.

When in BT position, playing K2, K3,K4,K5s is somenthing that I should do?
Of course, when in gap. And if I do play these hands, should I squeeze a little?
What is the reasonable size?
Would I use this in the last 2 or 3 levels before Late Reg?

Thank's
:confused:

M

Mateo

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Disclaimer: I'm no expert, this is just my opinion.

I think the button is a great place to try get some steals in. I would open a lot wider, but expect one of the blinds to defend a large percentage of the time. Because of this high chance of defence, I tend to open hands that give me good draws, suited connectors etc. K2+ suited, I would also probably open (depending on stack sizes - short stacked probably less so) but off suit I would stick to K9o+. With these hands there are a lot of good cards that give you the opportunity to profitably cbet on the flop, meaning you can often take down the pot without much resistance. Be prepared to fold though to a defend - you don't want to lose a large % of your stack with a marginal hand!

Sizing again depends on stack depth, but 2.5 - 3x is pretty standard I would say.

ammje

ammje

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello gatti, It depends on what type of players are in the BBs, if they are players who do not fold with anything, it is not a good idea to get into trouble with players of that type, it is better to play with a better range of hands.

80abukaH

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello friends.

Of course, when in gap. And if I do play these hands, should I squeeze a little?

Thank's

Which table size is also a key question you should ask yourself.

For squeeze, do you actually mean the move of 3betting after a raise and a call?

And why do you mention doing that exactly in that phase of the tournament?