Played KK and got beat

B

Bluebottle88

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm fairly new to poker played KK with a 5BB raise, had one caller.. C bet half pot on the flop... All middle / low cards.... Got called.... Bet half pot again on the turn and got called... River card was 8... Bet the pot got called again he turned over pair of 8s for a set.... I think he played this hand badly and got lucky but did I play this hand correctly?

Matt_Burns88

Matt_Burns88

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
This is something you will need to get used to when playing poker. Sometimes the worst hands and the worst play wins.

You cannot look at the hand in isolation, but rather, if you played the hand in the same way over and over and over again, would it be profitable? Yes it would, so you should not worry that you lost this one hand. The guy sounds like he over valued his 88 and got lucky to spike his set. Overall I want to play this guy every day.

In terms of playing correctly or not, you need to provide more details. Was it a cash game or tournament, what were yours and the villains stack sizes, positions on the table, other players in the pot, any information you might have about the villain's style and range.

On a very basic level, I don't think there's too much wrong with your play. 5BB is a large raise pre-flop and might scare all your opponents off, in which case you're leaving money on the table, but maybe the table is playing loose so you'll get paid off, I don't know. I'm also assuming that there are not straights or flushes out there, in which case triple barrelling is fine too.

T

thatgreekdude

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Always be wary of sets when pots aren't 3/4bet preflop , never be afraid to throw away AA/KK in pots like that. You played the hand fine, sometimes after getting a call on the flop i'll jam on the turn if I feel my opponent is drawing to something and I have them beat.

pentazepam

pentazepam

Legend