Is math really important ?

PokStorm

PokStorm

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone.
I'm not really good at math, and it's not at my age that I want to get back into it.
So, without math can we hope to achieve some good results in poker ?

elizeuof

elizeuof

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
We can play without math, there are some strategies that can help us, but you need to thing about others players, and sometimes the math will be used to calc their possibilities and if you don't take this on count you will lose for their in a long time.

I advice you to learn all you can about poker and try do understand the basics of math, like odds and potodds. ICM will be great for final table, but for us that have no good knowledge in poker math will be more util to aperfect the others qualities first.

Be exploited by another's players will be the worst thing that can happen with us, but using all the knowledge in others things related to poker will be effective to avoid some erros on play against theses players.

We usually will not use the math conscious all the time, with the time we will have good instinct to play certain hands.

C

cheeeer

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Of course not. For example for pot odds you always have 50%. To get 33% you need one more caller and he should fold till show down guaranteed. It is impossible to calculate. People always will find explanations for a bad call.

But maybe to count how many outs you have is useful. So can't say maths sucks at all.

PokStorm

PokStorm

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
If I understand correctly, mathematics is not essential but without it, we are more likely to be beaten... mmm, so I must be interested in it a little. :icon_scra

D

Delfino

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Math is not important in poker. I wouldn't call counting simple odds "math". :)

ajtrevor

ajtrevor

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips