limp, fish move

Patoamz95

Patoamz95

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello people, I have been studying poker for a long time for about 6 months or more I don't know, I question that every video of a pro that I watch always says the same thing "never do limp a bb" but they never explain to you why or when to do it. a bb is a fish move?

Nikolay Nakhaev

Nikolay Nakhaev

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
rather, it is a trick to find your outs for defense inexpensively

D

Dhendrixon

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
The meaning here is that you should never open limp (be the first person to call the bb). You can call the bb if someone in front of you has already open limped, usually this is done with a mid to low pocket pair for set mining or suited connector type cards. The reason they say not to open limp yourself is that it is a passive play and shows hand weakness.

E

Erickaie

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
i dont think so

i dont think its a fish move specially when you are deep in a tournament, for example if you are close to the bubble or maybe close to a final table then sometimes it is reasonable to limp.

ZenGreen

ZenGreen

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I used to think it was, but Ive seen some good players doing this so who knows. I try not to limp, but after losing a few hands in a row I dunno LOL

TeUnit

TeUnit

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
When you limp you are usually playing out of position without initiative, so you either need the best hand or to bluff the villans. If you raise you can win the hand right there, your perceived range will be stronger and it will be easier to continuation bet and get the villans to fold, and you should get less players in the hand.

Phoenix Wright

Phoenix Wright

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips