imnoobpoker

imnoobpoker

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Hello everybody!

Playing poker for a month now and I still have one problem: tournament, blinds are going up and I dry up. Sometimes, I call it luck, I end up with a good hand and then I get some chips back. But sometimes not. What should I do to go against this?

Thank you for the help again!

RED137

RED137

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
For me, I try to keep at least a 10xBB+SB+(ANTx10) of the next upcoming blinds. So say the next blinds are 100/200 with 20 ant. I want a stack of 100+200×10=3,000 + (ANT 20× 10 = 200) = 3,200. But I like to round up so 3,500 is good. This allows me 10 orbits to try and make a good hand or double up. But as the blinds raise I increase my needed stack size. I hope this helps, this is what I do to stay afloat. I'm still new to online poker, so I'm sorry if I can't give you a straight forward answer but I tried and I hope it helps you a little.

D

DaysAreYears

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
You probably do not just play enough hands?

If you end up being a lower stack in the table bigger stacks are prone to target you. If you fold enough hands they see you are afraid to play, so they going to raise you a lot. They are most likely to bluff you out of the pot.

Other thing is blind steal. If you are in a good spot, lets say Dealer, or before dealer you should try to steal the pot betting chips but never over 1/3 of your stack, except if you are for sure win. It might seem small, but you can pay your next blinds with those chips. In the end tournament is survival game where the big devour the small slowly.

In the early tournament when the blinds are small you should try your luck with flop even with lower hands. Hope any of this helps at all.

K

karl coakley

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips