How do you adjust your game when playing with amateurs?

guccipix

guccipix

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Like if you play a home game with friends who have little experience, do you do anything differently? I find these situations the hardest to play in, the less experience someone has, the more unpredictable they will probably be. The biggest thing that helps is pretty much to cut back on C-betting and keep bluffs to a minimum. In my experience these kind of players tend to call you down almost no matter what they have.

Iryna Stryzheuskaya

Iryna Stryzheuskaya

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
BY
Chips
I'm an amateur myself :)

J

Jamuka7657

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I was playing with friends who were newbies I would probably ease up on the bluffs, 3-bets and shoves. Keeps the game friendlier and less chaotic.

MrPokerVerse

MrPokerVerse

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
You should develop history that will dictate what you can and can't get away with. Just like players of skill you have different styles and weakness you pick up from being in hands with them.

gon4iypes

gon4iypes

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
GB
Chips
for me, playing with friends is more for fun...I mean do you really want to take advantage of someone who is your friend??? It depends how much money is involved...I feel bad taking money from my friends

X

xexeu

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
with a lot of patience because you have played so that will direct all

S

Steven Cannizzo

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
You pretty much have to think like an amateur, who more likely than not will take chances with iffy hands. I'd open my preflop range a bit wider, and be a little more aggressive.

bstyles85

bstyles85

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Every once in a while i'll play a free roll with house cash involved at the local bar I like to socialize and drink at. It's full of amateurs.