How to control impulsivity?

roxtri

roxtri

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi, my name is Greg. I'm a student of civil engineering. I met poker in 2019.

Since then I have won, a few dollars in freerolls, however, I always lose everything when playing high buy-ins. I would like to receive tips on how to control impussivity to build a bankroll.

It is my first post and pardon my mistakes, English is not my first language.

dom97

dom97

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I like to have something else going on if 1 tabling to take the focus away from playing every hand,

LJG23

LJG23

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Do a little study on bankroll management. This will give you an idea of how much money you need to have in order to play a certain buyin. There are several approaches to this depending the game type and what kind of risk of ruin you want. (ROR example, if you have $100 and bet someone all of it that you will flip a coin and it will land on heads you have a 50% chance of losing your $100. That means you have a 50% risk of ruin.). If you never want to deposit on a poker site again it should be almost zero. However, if you have a source of income and are able to make a deposit here and there then maybe you can take a little more risk.

The biggest part of bankroll management is self discipline. Not only waiting to move up in stakes but probably the hardest thing to do, moving down when you're on a down swing.

Building a bankroll is not gambling. Every buy in is an investment, not every investment will yield a profit. Never put yourself in a position either in poker or real life where something out of your control decides your fate.

Hope this helps.

Since then I have won, a few dollars in freerolls, however, I always lose everything when playing high buy-ins. I would like to receive tips on how to control impussivity to build a bankroll.

roxtri

roxtri

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips