Originally Posted by pokerninja
Thank you for your replies. I don't recall all the other specifics some of you asked for, but I think the general consensus and my own gut instinct at the time dictates that I should have folded given that the villain was not insane.
Now I got another bad beat today, I know I should probably hang it up until I know WTF I am doing but it's too addictive.
Please forgive me if I don't have all the detail but I am looking more for a general rule of thumb:
I had AK and raised 2bb from mid position. All folded but the villain.
Flop comes out: KhQdJd. I raise 8bb, villain calls
Turn is 9d, I raise 12, villain re raises 24 I call.
River is Ah, I check , villain goes all In and I call he shows A10.
So he had made his straight at the flop and I still called the all-in with him having a crack at the flush.
Was it wrong of me to hang on to the pot? Should my first raise been much higher than 2bb in the hopes that he would have folded with the A10 which is not the greatest hand after all?
And in more generally, is it wise to go by the rule of: If you are not convinced you have 100% the better hand don't call an 'All-in'?
I am digging myself into the whole pretty quickly here, so all replies are highly appreciated.
You just need to learn proper betting here. A 2BB raise is too small preflop except in special situations and won't really accomplish anything, 2.5 is the smallest I go, but most likely 3 if you're looking for folds and/or value.
On the flop, we know the pot is somewhere between 4.5 and 5.5BB(you never gave villains position to know if he was in the blinds and had already contributed or not). Regardless, you overbet the pot... once again something that is rarely done, and when I see it, it screams fish(sorry). You should be betting around half pot here, mostly as a probe. This flop is loaded, and it's very likely you're not on top. When he calls your bet, it's pretty much shutdown time unless a 10 comes. The rest of the hand, well, you pretty much called it yourself, it was bad. Shouldn't have made the bet, shouldn't have called the raise, and DEFINITELY shouldn't have called the ALL-IN. You got too caught up in top pair again.