Was folding to pocket Queens correct here?

Phoenix Wright

Phoenix Wright

Legend
Loyaler
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I am fairly new to poker, but I have always loved psychology. Naturally, I excel at that aspect of poker and spotting/concealing tells is second nature for me: however, sometimes I still run across some questions regarding the theoretical and fundamentals of what play is "standard."

From a little practice, I've learned that I am decent at full ring poker (at least decent for a beginner). However, I am not nearly as good as I'd like when it comes to heads-up and this is clearly an area where a psychology-heavy player should thrive.

In a recent heads-up game (NL Holdem, deep stacked), I was dealt 4, 2 offsuit preflop from the small blind. I put my opponent on a strong range of pocket 9+, or hands like Ace-King, Ace-Queen etc. I instant folded my junk hand and my disgusted opponent revealed pocket Queens face-up.

Post-game, this got me thinking: If I identified their hand accurately, then how long should I continue the hand if I am behind? If I had a slightly better hand (since 90% plus heads up range is understandable), then perhaps I'd see a flop - but at what hand is continuing even to the flop worth it in heads-up if you believe you are behind? I didn't feel like wasting chips when I was behind, so I just folded.