Best Ideas for teaching my girlfriend poker

MagicDick

MagicDick

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
So I have been playing poker for decades and I am not exactly a patient teacher.

My girlfriend has asked me multiple times to teach her how to play poker.

Although I learned live and really enjoy the social dynamic of live play I don't think that is the most meaningful way to learn the basics of the game.

I figured I would start with freeroll tournaments until she is comfortable with what the cards mean and how to make a hand.

I think I should probably skip the more advanced strategy of position and opponent until she knows the game.

Does anyone have experience teaching an absolute novice that can offer a suggested course of action?

KristaK

KristaK

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
So I have been playing poker for decades and I am not exactly a patient teacher.

Although I learned live and really enjoy the social dynamic of live play I don't think that is the most meaningful way to learn the basics of the game.

I figured I would start with freeroll tournaments until she is comfortable with what the cards mean and how to make a hand.

I think I should probably skip the more advanced strategy of position and opponent until she knows the game.

Does anyone have experience teaching an absolute novice that can offer a suggested course of action?
buy her a poker training program like Upswing or Raise Your Edge
that way you have the best current poker teachers, help her learn proper

Aremaz95

Aremaz95

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Create a poker account and put it to play with fictional money so you understand the game more

N

Nano5722

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I think the best way just to let her play lots of freerolls, she will win some money and play poker without any risk. After that, when she got some experience, you can show her some good teaching videos on Youtube, that can help a lot.

Poker_Mike