Beginner mistakes - bluffing

D

DrSparky

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all,

As a beginner I've noticed that one of my major leaks is that I think people are bluffing more than they actually are - I look at their play and I think either, "That would be a great place to bluff" or "He can't have his normal range again here..."

I primarily play a weekly STT live "pub game" which is effectively a turbo structure (Blinds up every 15 mins) and very soon I'm hoping to get involved online with some 2NL cash and low stakes STTs (To find which I'm best at and develop my skills/experience)

I received, and read, a lot of advice on CC stating that at the lower stakes bluffing is much less frequent, and you should never try to bluff fish or calling stations as you're going to get called far too often...

My question(s) for you all are:

1) At what stakes have you found that bluffing becomes much akin to what you read in poker books?

2) In my last STT game I probably played for 3 hours (100-150 hands?) and played around 2 pure "I have nothing and am playing my position bluffs" and perhaps 10 semi-bluffs "I have something which may be the second best hand but I think I can get you to fold since I have position on you and you have demonstrated weakness" - does this sound about right? (I appreciate that any play is situation dependent, but am I miles away from sensible here?)

3) A phrase I heard from a professional poker player (On YouTube) was "If you're not getting caught bluffing, you're probably not bluffing enough" - do you agree with this, and at what stakes is kind of sentiment accurate?

4) When you're playing against a known and self-confessed fish and you have history with them that confirms that, when they act is it more correct to think "I should give him a wider range here than most players" or "There's a good chance he's bluffing here..." (Again I appreciate this is person/situational dependent, but any general sentiments are very welcome)