Another beginner question

N

Notsure55

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hey, this is my first post and this website and forum have been pretty helpful so far so I appreciate that.

I'm a novice player, very new to the game and I've only been researching and playing for fake money on games.com for about a month.

I'm sure this question has been asked before so I apologize in advance if an identical thread has already been covered but do you have any advice on where I should start looking, researching, reading and practicing to get good at online poker?

My goal is to make $500-$1000 a month and to learn everything there is to the mathematics side of Texas Hold Em as I'm more of a statistics kind of guy.

If you could name websites, books and online (fake money) games that offer tournaments that are similar to the popular sites for beginners, that would be great. Like I said I've looked through most of this site, a book called the Intelligence Guide to Poker (2003), and played a few hours on that games.com site.

I realize I'm up against extremely experienced and skilled players when I go into the real money aspect but I'm pretty sure I want to get vested into this as I enjoy it and would like to make some extra cash in the long run.

Thanks.

T

Tosh_67

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I love the boldness of your ambition ! $500-$1000 a month ! .... Nothing wrong with having big targets...