AK in early positions

Warrior1961

Warrior1961

Legend
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
I think I have clarified that I am an enthusiast but still very, very novice in the game of poker and wanted his opinion on my way of playing AK, both suited and off, from the first and even middle positions if the hand comes clean or with callers, being blind low. Normally I match the big blind, I only climb with this hand in last positions. Obviously I am talking about the game in tournaments or sits. From already thank you very much.

B

bellicoso

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello! If I'm understanding you, you limp with these hands from early position. This might be a clever trap... I don't know.

I am still learning much as well, however, and I think it might be better, generally speaking, to raise with these hands. Suited is best, obviously.

It's okay from early position to represent a strong hand properly, especially if antes are in play. A raise two or three times the big blind is fine. You want to leave yourself room to fold but be ready to take on challengers if you have a good flop.

If you're short stacked, be ready to follow a raiser with an all-in push. Again, suited is best.

You definitely want to take command of the betting with this hand, I believe. And if you can pull down blinds and antes with it, that's great.

In the end, practice and experience will dictate how you will continue to play these hands. But, try some things out and let us know how it goes.

Good luck to you!

Last edited:
M

mrT

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
well i am nothing like a pro but i prefer playing those hands strong so aklways raise and punish the limpers
but dont follow me do what you wanna do and think is best

WVHillbilly

WVHillbilly

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Raise AK from all positions. If short-stacked just open shove.

tame4g

tame4g

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips