Is this an awful fold?

H

Hitaway4

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
I'm pretty new to tournament poker online. Is this a stupid fold with top set? With 4 people still in the hand, Monotone board, is folding top set facing a 30BB All-in raise terrible? Of course, afterwards I see that the 30BB shove was 2nd set, but this seems like an awful shove by him IMO.

CO: 76.67 BB
BTN: 117.77 BB
Hero (SB): 75.95 BB
BB: 36.78 BB
UTG: 47.53 BB
UTG+1: 72.6 BB
MP: 41.98 BB
MP+1: 116.64 BB
MP+2: 33.85 BB

9 players post ante of 0.13 BB, Hero posts SB 0.5 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 2.62 BB) Hero has 8 8

UTG raises to 2.5 BB, fold, MP calls 2.5 BB, fold, fold, fold, fold, Hero calls 2 BB, BB calls 1.5 BB

Flop: (11.12 BB, 4 players) 7 8 4
Hero checks, BB checks, UTG bets 5 BB, MP raises to 39.35 BB and is all-in, fold, fold, UTG calls 34.35 BB

Turn: (89.83 BB, 2 players) 2

River: (89.83 BB, 2 players) K

UTG shows A K (One Pair, Kings)
(Pre 46%, Flop 30%, Turn 19%)
MP shows 7 7 (Three of a Kind, Sevens)
(Pre 54%, Flop 70%, Turn 81%)
MP wins 89.83 BB

Last edited by a moderator:

300HPGOD

Legend
Platinum Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips