• Start date
T

TheCourtesyFlush

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Villian Stats (VPIP/PFR/AF): 32/8/2.8

Hey all. I'll start with the hand, then ask my questions. I was advised in another thread that my primary focus right now needs to be post flop, so I bought PostFlop Vol. 1&2 and I'm studying it now. I'm on the C-Bet section and doing hand reviews using the book. Note, I'm also studying Poker Workbook for Math Geeks to cover that area of learning. The stats mentioned for villain are over 389 hands. Here's the hand:

Winning Poker, Hold'em No Limit - $0.01/$0.02 - 8 players

UTG: $3.19 (160 bb)
UTG+1: $2.15 (108 bb)
MP (Hero): $4.51 (226 bb)
MP+1: $2.27 (114 bb)
CO: $1.55 (78 bb)
BU: $0.81 (41 bb)
SB: $0.80 (40 bb)
BB: $2.12 (106 bb)

Pre-Flop: ($0.03) Hero is MP with K K
2 players fold, Hero raises to $0.06, MP+1 calls $0.06, 1 fold, BTN calls $0.06, 2 players fold

Flop: ($0.21) 4 4 T (3 players)
Hero bets $0.12, MP+1 raises to $0.56, BU folds, Hero calls $0.44

Turn: ($1.33) 3 (2 players)
Hero checks, MP+1 bets $1.27, Hero raises to $3.89 (all-in), MP+1 calls $0.38 (all-in)

Okay, now for the questions:

1. A paired board is considered wet, correct?
  2. For my main question, I'm wondering if the C-bet was correct here. Based on the book, there are factors for not C-betting. I'm multi-way, out of position, with a wet flop (based on question 1). That's 3 reasons to consider not c-betting, but I still "feel" it was the right thing. I'm assuming I'm wrong, so I thought I'd ask.

I realize the turn check-raise is probably bad, maybe even really bad, but I haven't got to that part of the book yet. That's my excuse and I'm sticking to it. :)

Thanks all, these have been really helpful so far!

Last edited:
TenJack

TenJack

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips