$10 NLHE 6-max: 4-betting range BTN vs over 3betting BB

teh_colonel_saigon

teh_colonel_saigon

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Sup my dudes (and dudettes),

My hand is below, but I'm wondering more generally what we should be 4-betting for value/flat calling a 3bet with. Against a villain with 15% 3bet + I think JJ+, AQ+ maybe some A5s bluffs if the guy folds to 4 bets, and we'd call 77-TT and good suited broadways.

I'm new to 10nl so at first I was going off his 3bet stats from <100 hands (I know, scold me) so my read was wrong anyway, his real 3bet% is around 6%.

My assumption is that 6-9% is a good amount for 3betting and against that range we should only continue with 88+, AJs+ KJs+, 4bet QQ+ AK maybe KQs from time to time. Too nitty? How can I tell if I'm over folding/playing weakly?

As for the hand below, perhaps you can talk about bet sizing, continuing on highcard turns etc. (I feel like we could turn our hand into some bluffs on the turn if we had some blockers of his Kings, AQ would be a good candidate).

Some people go 1/2 pot or larger in these 3bet/4bet pots, 1/3 lets V continue with everything.

Yatahay Network - $0.10 NL (6 max) - Holdem - 6 players
Hand converted by PokerTracker 4

BB: 255.8 BB
UTG: 100 BB
MP: 100 BB
Hero (CO): 194.9 BB
BTN: 279.2 BB
SB: 167.7 BB

SB posts SB 0.5 BB, BB posts BB 1 BB

Pre Flop: (pot: 1.5 BB) Hero has 9 9

fold, fold, Hero raises to 2.5 BB, BTN calls 2.5 BB, SB raises to 11 BB, fold, Hero raises to 30.1 BB, fold, SB calls 19.1 BB

Flop: (63.7 BB, 2 players) 5 7 8
SB checks, Hero bets 20.4 BB, SB calls 20.4 BB

Turn: (104.5 BB, 2 players) K
SB checks, Hero checks

River: (104.5 BB, 2 players) Q
SB bets 52.2 BB, fold

SB wins 99.3 BB

teh_colonel_saigon

teh_colonel_saigon

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Here's a hand with JJ that could be a 4 bet. Villain is 33/24 with a 23% over 80 hands. I think calling here is better- we have position and don't know this guy too well.

SB: 102.2 BB