re: Poker & Can you please solve a dispute
Originally Posted by dsvw56
1. He has the option to muck. But the winner of the hand does have the option to request to have a or all losing hand(s) exposed. This however is generally frowned upon and considered bad etiquette.
2. The player who would be first to act, that is the first active player to the left of the dealer button, is required to show first.
This is poker 101 stuff and if there was some sort of dispute that the floor manager couldnt resolve I would bring it to the attention of the casino management that their floor personnel are unclear of all the rules.
Thanks, you have confirmed what myself and several others thought, but one player ( you know the kind . "oh I've been to Vegas and played in proper tournaments " ) argued like hell. He won the hand but he insisted the other player had to show his cards.
Everyone argued and the TD was called over. He said ( being fair ) that he felt the bloke was wrong but he wouldnt swear to that being the official line.
The bloke then argued that because he had laid fown his cards first ( he was on the SB as it happened ) the other player should do the same because the hand had reached "showdown" meaning both players must show their hands together.
As I say it got quite heated with the bloke telling everyone else they were a joke blah blah and that he had never been to a place that didnt know the rules..