Winning Hand Question
Man, I just posted this, and something went wrong. I'll try this again...
I have a question about who would win in a couple of scenarios. I haven't had much luck when trying to look this up online. The hands I am choosing here are somewhat arbitrary, just trying to get the point across.
Cards on the Board: A873T (the A873 are suited up - clubs)
Player 1: 5J (With the 5 being clubs, player has a flush)
Player 2: 4K (With the 4 being clubs, player has a flush)
Would player 1 win this hand? I think he would not, and that both players would split the pot since the high card of the flush is the community ace. But this recently came up at a poker game
I played at some friends house and it's still being argued about.
Playing 7 card stud with a high-low split
Player 1: A234T
Player 2: 45679
If both of these players are going for the low hand, I have to assume Player 2 would take the pot here. This is another scenario I ran into playing with a different group of friends. I tried to explain to them that it's the lowest card that wins here. My explanation was that if we were playing for the high hand (excluding the ace), that player 1 would have won this hand, meaning that at a game of low ball he loses. The guy was arguing that he had more low cards, so he wins. Anyway, I'm about 99% sure I am correct on this one.
So, what do you all think? And is there a resource on the net I can get some of this information from. Mainly because I am supposed to play another group this weekend, and I ran both of these scenarios by the guy who is hosting the game, with him thinking the opposite of myself as to who would of won the pot. I need to find out what is correct one way or the other, and if it is me, show him some solid proof that I am correct.
Thanks for everyones help in advance...