Originally Posted by tenbob
If I was the shortstack in this hand I would certainly have called the TD for a ruling on this. My understanding is that once the pot is awarded and the cards gathered for the next deal (obv as he was shuffling for the next deal) then there can no longer be a dispute
^ this. Once the pot's been awarded and the shuffle for the next hand has begun there's really not a lot you can do, but by all means pause and call the TD over.
I'm not sure I understand how this hand wound up though - someone pointed out that card didn't get burned so the dealer went back and fixed it, which resulted in the pot being awarded to the other player... but he'd already started shuffling for the next hand?!? That
is definitely not right and the TD ought to be called.
Originally Posted by Stu_Ungar
Obviously if you aren't in the hand, just keep quiet.
^ definitely not
this. Dealers are human, they make mistakes from time to time. I'm one, and I know I do. Not very often, because I'm awesome, but it happens.
If you notice a mistake happening, say something - even if you're not in the hand.
Originally Posted by dd_decker
If any of the two players cards touched the muck, I think the hand should have been valid even theough there was no burn. If no cards touched the muck, I still think the hand should have stood, as it was too late, chips were already awarded, but I don't know, it just seems fair.
^ also not this, I think.
TDA Rule 29 says:
29. Killing Winning Hand
Dealers cannot kill a winning hand that was tabled and was obviously the
winning hand. Players are encouraged to assist in reading tabled hands
if it appears that an error is about to be made.
This means that even if the winning hand touches the muck, it's not dead as long as it was tabled and if it's possible to correct the error the dealer can do so. Note also that the rule encourages players to point out dealer errors in this regard.
I don't know if we've got enough information on this hand to categorically say who was right or what should have happened, but the basic principles don't change: if something wierd happens, call the tournament director over before
the next hand commences.