Originally Posted by robhimself
The standard rule I've seen is that if you put in more that half of a raise it's a raise, and less than half is a call. For instance, if someone bets $10 on the flop and you say nothing and throw out $14, it's a call and you take back the $4 extra, but if you throw out $16 it's a raise to $20. As for a 3bet situation, lets say someone bets $10, player 2 raises to $35 (so a $25 raise) and the original bettor now pulls back his $10 and puts out a total of $45. This would just be a call, as he only added $10 to a $25 raise. If he had put out $50 total that would be more than half, so he would be forced to raise to $60 total.
Sorry but that's not true - at least not going by the standard rules in big bet (ie: pot limit or no limit) games.
Under Rule 11 cited above it doesn't matter whether it's less than half a raise or not - if you bet more, even a single ante chip more, you can be required to make it a full raise.
The half a full raise thing does
apply to a few situations in limit
games, but it's not used in PL or NL games.
Originally Posted by Chemist
11. ~~~increased to the proper size (but no greater). This does not apply to a player who has unintentionally put too much in to call.
Kinda hard to interpret the unintentional part, Looks like saying 'oh I only meant to call' doesn't cut it though.
True - I take that to mostly apply in situations where the player has already verbalised "call", and then somehow still manages to put too many chips in the pot. Though that would be a redundancy, since there's already a rule that says verbal action is binding.
It's like everything in poker I guess, the floor always has a degree of latitude to decide something based on fairness. Or unfairness, as the case may be