ckingriches

ckingriches

Lucky Multiple League MVP
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Background

I work full time and generally play poker in the evenings or on weekends. I’m a mathematician by degree (about 25 years ago), so I have a working knowledge of probability, expected value, variance, etc.

I’ve been playing poker online, exclusively at FullTilt for a little more than 3 years. I first won a few dollars by taking down a Razz freeroll and have turned that into about $1,800 by playing predominantly NLHE SNGs. I started at $1 STTs and now play $5 and $10 STTs, as well as some CardsChat freerolls and money-added MTTs when time permits.

I feel like I’m a pretty good recreational online player, although I know I’d be an easy read in a live game. That’s fine with me since I don’t believe they offer live events played in your underwear while Lost runs on TV in the background. I have never played ring games for money and almost never play more than one tourney at a time. I’m just not that good at multi-tasking, and I really need to pay some attention to my wife (she’s an avid reader but doesn’t play poker) and help my children with their homework.

I’ve never deposited using my own money, and since I started playing while ignorant of such things, I have no rakeback. I’ve also never used a hand tracking software program, mostly because of the expense and my sense that it would be more valuable in multi-tabling cash games.

Questions

How can I objectively assess my poker ability? Perhaps one of you has access to a tool that would illustrate my strengths, weaknesses, or tendencies. Since I’ve opened myself up here, I wouldn’t mind anything being posted, especially if it’s already public info.