Rules Q: Limp with AA, short stack all in, no reraise?
The last time I was home on leave, I went to the Hawaiian Gardens Casino in LA a few times - mainly because it is closest to home, and I didn't have a lot of time to be driving to and from casinos
. The last time I was there, a question came up from a player at a table, about a hand in progress -
He had limped in under the gun - it was a raisy table. If I had a solid hand or one of another couple players, you could expect a raise. I had no hand, so my hand was in the muck, but he had limped in, and a player in a later position raised all-in. He was in for the BB, or $2, and the all-in, let's say . . . was about $12-15. It may have been less, but it was well within the limits of a 'raise', as it at least doubled the amount of the action before it, which was $2.
Action gets back around to our friend under the gun, and the dealer says something (I wasn't paying attention), and he says "I can't raise?" And the missile popped up on the radar - apparently I had been paying attention on some level because it occured to me that the dealer said "Call or Fold?" Suddenly much more interest was deposited into this hand. We were going to have to teach the dealer how poker works (bad sign).
The player calls a floorman over, and asks him "If I limped in, expecting a raise so I could reraise, and the raise is at least double the action before it, I can reraise right?"
*** Tangent - I think the rule is the all-in has to be at least half of the action before it in order for the person who took that action to re-raise. So if the blind is $2, I raise 4 to $6, and you go all in for $8, I could re-raise, because you covered half of my raise. At least that's how I learned it in the card room... Correct me if I'm wrong ***
To which of course the floorman responded, what everybody knows to be true, I can stop paying attention here because we know how it will end, "Of course, it's a no limit game and he didn't bet a small enough amount to kill the action with his all-in." EXCEPT . . . he didn't say that. He said this:
"No. You already had a chance to raise."
I believe he is wrong, and will likely never set foot in Hawaiian Gardens (sp) again.
Perhaps somebody better versed in the rules could point out what the actual rules are, and yes, I know that it's different from place to place, as the house rules are what they are, I'd just like to know what the gold standard is, so that I can use it to effect my poker decisions in the future.
Thanks in advance