Originally Posted by K_Kahne_Fan
I always thought it was kind of an unspoken rule of don't raise with an AI on a tourney unless you are for sure to win.
I think you'll find that's more of a post-flop thing, and even then they're not so much rules as... guidelines. Kinda like the pirate's code or something, me hearties!
There's a couple of reasons why I wouldn't put too much stock in these unspoken guidelines for this situation too:
First, I'm assuming this is a single-table SnG? With seven players still in, we're still a long way from the bubble, so making sure
you eliminate this player isn't as pressing.
Second, they've got bugger-all money anyway. Tripling them up still won't make them much of a threat, and the side pot has the potential to be a lot bigger than the main pot.
Anywho - on the surface it seems like an odd play, but I'd figure it for someone who was planning from the start to limp-raise. The all-in player probably wasn't part of the plan, but it's not an amount that's going to worry any of the other stacks.
If I were in Seat 6, I wouldn't worry too
much about the all-in player, and just play your hand as normal against the raiser. Incidentally, though, if I were the player in Seat 6 I probably would've either raised myself to isolate or just gotten out of the way. Flat calling the all-in (especially such a small one) makes this messier than it needs to be.