Question on rules
Bit of a contentious issue at a game in my poker league the other night. Wondering if anyone can answer this for me.
It was a tournament game. Bit of pre flop betting, a reraise from the button holding kk. Called by the big blind with 88 (one is a spade). everyone else folds.
Flop came with k(of spades) 8 and another spade. Giving both players a set and one a flush draw. Betting continues with spades on the turn and river giving one guy a set of kings and another a king high flush. Both players end up all in on the river.
Both turn and guy a declares a set of kings, guy b declares a set of 8s. Totally missing that he had hit a backdoor flush.
Guy a was about to claim a victory and someone else not in the hand points out the flush and guy b claims the chips.
I said that the random guy was not in the hand so should no have said anything so the guy with the flush should b the loser. Bit of debate and in the end the flush held up.
In my view the guy didn't know what he had. He was betting on a set of 8s which was the losing hand. He had no idea he had a flush and only actually won because of a third party.
Someone said, if it was a proper money comp then the dealer would have declared the flush the winner. But I dont believe that would be true.
Anyone know the rules on this?