Question about positioning

RoaringLlama

RoaringLlama

Rising Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone,
I am relatively new to poker, been playing quite a lot for the past few months, and have been really enjoying playing and watching. But when watching pros play the commentators use a lot of terms about positioning at the table and I was just wondering how important that actually was? Basics of it are a little obvious but wasn't sure if there was more to it than that.

PackinPat

PackinPat

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Basics: if we played heads up and you always had to act first would you have the advantage or would I have the advantage? Position has its advantages

monstr999999

monstr999999

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
a lot of information and video on the Internet on this subject... study it... will help exactly..)))
:icon_stud

FF2586

FF2586

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
DZ
Chips
Position is very basic as you said, but very important in the game. The position factor helps you determine your range (of playable hands in a single spot), determine how agressive you would be in a single spot... In position (actiong last) you have much more information than when you are out of position (acting first) when you have none... And much more you could discover while playing!
Almost every decision in poker depends on position

The Boss

The Boss

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hello everyone,
I am relatively new to poker, been playing quite a lot for the past few months, and have been really enjoying playing and watching. But when watching pros play the commentators use a lot of terms about positioning at the table and I was just wondering how important that actually was? Basics of it are a little obvious but wasn't sure if there was more to it than that.