Originally Posted by Grossberger
Not true only if it is one of the first 2 cards dealt or more than 1 card is flipped otherwise it is just used as a burn card and deal continues as normal. see previous post for remaining rules on this happening.
^ this. Though again, some casinos
or card rooms or home game may deviate from this rule.
Originally Posted by tpb221
Oz-The rule you mention, does this apply when you are seated and not dealt? The op said the player was away from the table. I took it he was not dealt cause he was not seated but if he was seated then yes I can see this being a misdeal.
The rule says it's a misdeal if:
(j) A player has been dealt out who is entitled to a hand. This player must be present at the table or have posted a blind or ante.
We don't actually know if they'd posted a blind/ante or not, and apparently that makes a difference. And again, I strongly suspect this one will vary from room to room. The procedure we use, for example, is to deal a hand to the empty seat and then muck it if they're not back in time to act on it. We've got a much more laid back clientelle than casinos for the most part though, so it's as much an adaptation for them as anything.