Pot odds confusion
I have been reading up on pot odds
, counting outs and diciding whether or not to call and I have found a lot of conflicting information on the web. Could someone knowledgable please clarify...
For the sake of argument and as a simple example, I hold two high clubs and the flop comes with two of the cards also clubs. I know that 9 outs will make my flush which I would hope to be a winning hand. This gives me approximately a 20% chance to catch my card of the turn so in my view it makes sence to call a bet so long as it would be contributing no more than 20% of the total pot.
For example the pot is $3, villain bets $1 and I have to pay $1 to call.
If I didnt make the flush I would then do the same calculations on the next street.
This I believe is the rule of "2"
Whats the rule of "4" about?
I know they say multiply your outs by 4 to get your % chance to make your hand with two cards to come but after the flop this would have me believe there is around a 36% chance to make my flush and lead me to calling a much larger bet!
Can anybody set this straight for me?
Thanks again in advance!
Since starting this thread I can kind of see where the rule of 4 comes from as you have an extra chance to make your outs. This would make sence if I knew I wouldnt have to pay more money after the turn card came but is that really realistic?