This is a discussion on Poker rules question... within the online poker forums, in the General Poker section; I run a pub poker league and an incident occurred last night that I wasn't quite sure on the action. I wondered if anyone had
I run a pub poker league and an incident occurred last night that I wasn't quite sure on the action. I wondered if anyone had any insight please....
Not sure how much info you need but I'll try to provide as much info as poss.
Three players remain in tourney. Post flop we have one raise from dealer spot, small blind all-in, big blind calls, dealer folds. first burn card is discarded. which reveals the 3H face up in the deck.
here is my question, should the 3H still be played as the first flop card or should it be reshuffled? the 3H wasn't seen prior to it being revealed by the burn card being discarded.
is there any official ruling or is it house rules apply here?
Thanks for your input!
2nd October 2014, 12:13 PM
Online Poker at: Pokerstars
Strange situation. I've played a lot of poker and I have not seen that situation before.
If I was making the ruling I would play on as if it was face down.
House rules always apply, which can be annoying in some places where they don't stick to General rules.
2nd October 2014, 12:19 PM
Yeah, that was my thought too. We played as if it was face down. The 3H didn't help the small blind, who was at risk, so he wasn't that happy with that ruling but as I'd never seen this happen before I made the logical ruling. I just wondered if there was anything official out there, but I'd guess there wasn't.
2nd October 2014, 3:22 PM
Online Poker at: 3-Card Monte
All the money was in, nobody saw the card prior. Play as it were face down.
2nd October 2014, 3:24 PM
re: Poker & Poker rules question...
2nd October 2014, 4:25 PM
Online Poker at: pokerstars
If there was a side pot, or any futher action to be played in the hand, then I would re-shuffle the exposed card back into the stub, and then deal the flop. As played though, i think the way you did it is fine, and reasonable.
2nd October 2014, 6:59 PM
Poker at: Intertops
have to make sure both players see the card and to make sure leave it face up. then it doesn't matter no one is at a unfair advantage
4th October 2014, 4:22 AM
Since it was an all-in, the face up card is inconsequential, so yeah, play on. But in other situations, I've also played it where the exposed burn card becomes part of the flop and the card afterwards gets burned.
4th October 2014, 11:53 PM
Poker at: Pokerstars
If it were an exposed hole card it would matter
and have to be shown to everyone before being sent to the muck pile and the affected player would receive a replacement card after the rest of the hole cards have been dealt normally. (there are standard rules to cover such situations).
If it were supposed to have been a burn card then the situation is a bit more murky.
Being one of the community cards it doesn't really make any difference.
Which means your decision was perfectly valid.
Never ever return a card to the deck and reshuffle though, unless the whole hand is declared a miss-deal, voided, all stakes returned and redealt from scratch.
The reason being (if there were any more play) that it would now be known that the card wasn't in any players hand or the muck pile and it might also still appear again, such things could materially effect a hand later.
5th October 2014, 2:47 PM
Online Poker at: Cake/Carbon
Game: Hold 'em
re: Poker & Poker rules question...
I also think you let it play out in that situation.
7. A card discovered faceup in the deck (boxed card) will be treated as a meaningless scrap of paper. A card being treated as a scrap of paper will be replaced by the next card below it in the deck, except when the next card has already been dealt facedown to another player and mixed in with other downcards. In that case, the card that was faceup in the deck will be replaced after all other cards are dealt for that round.