re: Poker & poker rules question
Originally Posted by Mortis
Usually, which ever was the 2nd card that was flipped, would be used as the burn card before the river, and they would leave it face up, so everyone could see which card was accidentally flipped.
^ this is what I'd do.
The rules aren't very clear on this issue though, assuming that what Mortis has said is the situation we're looking at: the dealer has burned a card then put two cards out on the turn.
say that a flop
that contains too many cards has to be re-dealt, even if it's possible to know which card is the one that shouldn't be there (rule 3 in the link). That means leaving the burn card in place but reshuffling the rest of the deck. It doesn't say whether you should do this for a turn or river that has too many cards though.
There's a few procedures for correcting hands where a card wasn't burned at all, if two cards were burned by accident or if the dealer burns and turns too early (rules 4-6) but that's not our problem here.
Rule 8 specifies that a dealing error on the turn should be rectified "in a manner to least influence the identity of the boardcards that would have been used without the error".
In this case, as long as you can identify which one was the legitimate turn card and which one was the extra one, I'd take that to mean you do what Mortis suggests above: leave the correct turn card on the board and leave the other card face up but use it as the next burn card, then deal the next card in the deck as the river when the time comes. That way you've got all the correct cards on the board and all the correct burn cards, the only irregularity is that they players have seen one of the burn cards.
But Rule 8 goes on to state that you have to take the turn card (cards
in this case, I assume) out, burn and deal the river card then reshuffle and deal another card without a burn card on the river... but that makes no sense in this situation because it's definitely not
having the "least influence on the identity of the board cards". It's a rule that I'm pretty certain is meant only for prematurely dealt turn cards, but it says "dealing error on the turn" and that's certainly what this is as well.
Long story short: I think you've managed to find a situation so odd that nobody's written a specific ruling for it and even if it's not 100% what the rules say I'd just use the extra turn card as the river burn card and then proceed as normal.
If for some reason you can't work out which is the correct turn card and which one is the extra one, I guess you're compelled to use the reshuffle procedure stated above even though it means you'll have cards that were definitely supposed to be burned on the board.