Originally Posted by Leo 50
Last night I was playing at a SnG on Merge (Lock I think) and I was in the
Pre flop and the 1st position player, who had been very aggressive and had the chip lead, limped in.
2 others limped and I did as well (I know the horror of it all)
Now the BB FOLDED his hand (don't know why but you can do it) and the next thing I know the player in 1st position RAISES.
Is this a legal move or did the software mess up?
I couldn't find an official poker rule on this. Anyone know??
If it happened exactly that way then it's a glitch - not all sites would give the BB the option to fold their hand in a limped pot (never played Merge network, so wouldn't know) but AFAIK it's not against the rules to do it.
Betting can't be reopened unless the BB raises though. If they just check (or fold) then the betting round is complete and you go to the flop. So either this was a glitch, or (more likely, I'm afraid) you're not remembering the action correctly.