Lost my day job, blew my bankroll - Happy 2009

Ronaldadio

Ronaldadio

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Hi all.

Just found out a few days ago that I am to be made redundant at the end of the month.

Got a night job, so I can get by, but to cap it all I have blown my pokerstars bankroll - about $700 !!!

So the moto of the story, don`t go on `life` tilt !!!

When I was given the news I started playing poker at work and after 5 days I have blown the lot on Stars!!!

And for the first time in 3 years, I am now showing a loss in my poker earnings for a period (I split my year up into 6 month sections and I`m 4 months into this 6)

I`m making stupid moves, not laying down hands, the list goes on.

I`m lucky I still have about $600 in Party and $200 in Full Tilt.

Can you guys give any advice???

The Shrog

The Shrog

Cardschat Elite
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Practice proper BRM on these two accounts and don't tilt your $$ away.

Dorkus Malorkus

Dorkus Malorkus

HELLO INTERNET
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
umm stop playing for a while. playing the pokers after getting bad news is basically like burning money.

vanquish

vanquish

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
tap the L1 key to rewind time. this will consume one charge of your Sands of Time.

riverboatrat

riverboatrat

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
Bud, really sorry to hear that :/

But this is what I have to say:
Sort your head out before you sort your game out.
Dont play with scared money - seeing as you are now without work, money might be harder to come by
Use strict BRM.
Dont play emotional poker.
Dont gamble.
Don't pin your hopes on making a huge comeback immediately.
Play your way through your down swing - even if it means dropping to lower stakes for a while or playing freerolls.
Find time to take a walk
Use this time to fine tune your game - read more poker books, watch more WPT events on TV

brianvoytek

brianvoytek

Visionary
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips