Originally Posted by steveiam
Is there a rule that say's that if you declare the wrong hand at showdown you lose the hand...
It came up recenlty in a live local tournament (not a casino) when a player declared his hand as a low straight which was beaten by a higher straight, he then showed his cards which turned out to be a flush. The dealer declared his hand was void because he declared the wrong hand.
As far as i was aware the hand should have stood as a flush even though he miss read his hand...
Any thoughts ?
As far as I knew, CARDS speak. AKA his hand is a flush and should have won.
Deliberately lying about your hand would result in a penalty and perhaps a ban in a cash game.