Chip Stack Query
Hi guys. Just wanna know what the ruling will be in a scenario like this.
During a tournament or even a cash game, when Player A has a mountain of chips in front of him, and Player B in the hand with him asks 'how much u got there?', A answers 'around $2000'. B then responds with 'alright then i'm all-in', as he covers A by far. A calls and wins at showdown.
However, when the dealer counts down A's stack, A has close to 3500. In this case, will B have to pay the full 3500 or just 2000?
I believe the logical answer will be that B has to pay the full amount as it is his own fault for not asking the dealer to count down A's stack, however I notice that most times especially in cash games at the casinos
, players dont want to slow the game down by asking the dealer to count down every stack. So in essence, is this more of an etiquette issue? Cos if the ruling is that the fault lies with B and none of it lies with A, if I really wanted a shove/call and faced the same situation, I could easily just answer with a falsely low figure and force my opponent to pay me the real amount after he had shoved/called my shove.