re: Poker & Angle shoot or dealer error or both?
Originally Posted by detroitjunkie
However, since the dealer declared that the player was AI, and you called, then you are calling the AI, and action should then stop, and the 3 dollars goes into the pot since you and your opponent didnt argue the AI call and are therefore conceding to the dealers rule. This is subjective of course, and can be a floor call to reverse the ruling. But this is how I would rule it in my rooms anyways.
But isn't it incumbent on the other players at the table to point out an error in progress, and for it to be corrected in the manner that least affects the game?
Assuming that villain put all but $3 of his stack in without a verbal declaration, then the dealer did made a mistake declaring him all in*. Players pointed out the error, and it could be corrected without any
impact on the outcome of the hand by just having the normal betting rounds after the turn (and river, if necessary). I'm not a poker room manager or anything but IMO the dealer did the right thing at this point by declaring villain wasn't all in.
Of course the dealer made another mistake immediately after that by dealing the turn and river without allowing any betting.
Regardless of the fact that allowing that betting wouldn't have changed the outcome of the hand (obviously neither player is folding for an extra $3 on the turn here) it was definitely an angle shoot on OP's part getting the river redealt, but you can't fault the floor for their decision on the redeal given how the rest of the action played out.
* why villain turned his cards up if he didn't intend to be all in is another question entirely, of course...