When to move up from 2NL to 5NL?

KumaPuma

KumaPuma

Enthusiast
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Im fairly new to playing with real money and do not know when i should move up in levels.
I started at the end of December with 20€ and now im at 48€
I still play at 2NL 6max and cant decide when i should move to 5NL
my first goal was at 100€ but i feel like i could do it earlier at 75€and move back down if i fall to 50€
or if i do it at 50€ already and move back down at 40€
I dont know why but i cant decide at all :confused:

i know the smartest choice is probably to wait till 100€ but at the same time i think that is a little overkill :fight:

well thx for your opinions in advance and sorry if i made some major mistakes with my english :p

T

triplstacker

Rock Star
Silver Level
Total posts
Chips
I believe the standard is to have 30buyins at the next level and then drop back down when you lose 5 buyins.

However, if you think that you can perform well at 5nl, give it a shot with 3-5buyins.

Four Dogs

Four Dogs

Legend
Silver Level
Total posts
Awards
Chips
Well, the answer really depends more on what you can afford to play than it does on your skill level. If you can beat 1/2 than you should move up to 2/5 if you can sweat the variance. Don't worry about bankroll. That's really only a consideration if your playing for your rent.

FF2586

FF2586

Rock Star
Bronze Level
Total posts
Awards
DZ
Chips
Hi,

I think it is important to take your time while moving up the limits. My advice to you is to keep playing the 6max 2NL until you make good profit. If you can reach an average benefit of 10EUR per day you'd make 300EUR per month. If you can do that for 3 months you'd make 900EUR, you can then go up to 5NL and have 100 buyins (+400EUR you can withdraw). Then try to do the same at 5NL tables for 2 or 3 months until you reach a benefit averaging 25EUR per day so 750EUR per month.

Depends on your goals and the time you allow to poker. And do not forget there is life too.