re: Poker & Can someone explain pot committed
I consider being pot committed when there is big of percentage of my stack in the pot already and Im getting very good odds to call. I try to avoid this, but sometimes I'll find myself in that situation.
There isnt a rule that says you have to call a bet just because you are 'pot commited'. However, its foolish to put yourself that situation if you aren't planning to commit your stack.
Using the rule of 1/3, anytime 1/3 of your stack or the shortstack involved in the hand goes into the pot you have to consider the possiblity that you will be pot committed. An example:
Blinds are .50/1.00 and everyone at the table has a stack of $100. UTG raises it to $5, 2 players before you call, you call with 9s10s, and the blinds complete making the total pot $30. The flop is 7h 9d Js giving you mid pair and a gutshot draw. UTG bets out $25 its folded to you, you call because you think there is chance you have the best hand. The blinds fold.
Calling this flop bet means you have commited nearly 1/3 of your stack to the flop, this means there isn't a bet you can call on the turn and not (technically) commit yourself to the pot (unless your opponent, for some reason, bets $1 into an $80 pot). If the turn is, say an Ah and your opponent bets, you can easily fold here if you think you are beat. But what if its the As? You have the flush draw,a gutshot draw. Your opponent bets out $40 into the $80 pot. We'll ignore the fact that you arent getting proper odds to call for the sake of this example.
Now if you call, you have basically commited yourself to the pot. It'll cost you $30 to win a potential pot of $190 if your opponent bets the river. Not to mention the possiblity that even if you hit your straight or flush you still might not have the best hand.
If you miss and your opponent puts you all in, do you have to call? No you dont. You're getting 6.3 : 1 odds to call but you dont have to if you think you are beat. The error isnt folding your hand if you think are beat, but you are getting decent odds and/or you're 'pot committed'. The error actually putting yourself in that predicament in the first place. You committed 70% of your stack just to fold. What if he had bet $60 on the turn, you called, and folded the river. Now you've risked 90% of your stack just to fold.
This could've been easily avoided by folding PF, though it wasnt too bad of a call. On the flop, if you thought your opponent had a stronger hand than yours, a fold would've the correct move. But if you thought you had the better hand and you knew calling the bet would mean committing 1/3 of your stack. (And the next bet means you're either folding or committing yourself) you have a better chance of winning if you push all in here.
This is a bit of an extreme example, but you'll see it a lot in the early stages of an MTT or SNG.